19 March 2012

Rachmaninov & Franck: Cello Sonatas

Classical | Easy CD-DA, APE, CUE, No Log | 1 CD, Covers, LQ 243 MB | CD Date: May 2003 | Hyperion
Playing together for the first time for Hyperion, Hough and Isserlis are stunningly matched in this large-scale passionate romantic programme. The sonatas stand at the centre of the meaty repertoire established by Brahms - whose two cello sonatas Steven Isserlis has recorded for us in an awardwinning disc accompanied by Peter Evans (CDA66159) - and characterised by grand sweeping gestures, lush melody, and heartfelt emotions that sear from pathos to frenzy. The Franck is, of course, an alternative version the composer wished for his violin sonata, a transition that many feel to be the work's happiest incarnation. Composer: Sergei Rachmaninov, César Franck Performer: Stephen Hough, Steven Isserlis, Rebecca Evans
01 - Sergei Rachmaninov: Prelude Op.2 No. 1
02 - Oriental Dance Op.2 No.2
03 - Cello Sonata in G minor Op. 19: Lento - Allegro moderato
04 - Allegro scherzando
05 - Andante
06 - Allegro mosso
07 - Cesar Franck: Le Sylphe
08 - Cello Sonata in A major: Allegretto ben moderato
09 - Allegro
10 - Recitativo - Fantasia: Ben moderato - Molto lento
11 - Allegro poco mosso
12 - Panis Angelicus
I'm beginning here to resurrect some of the works that "disappeared" from Avax or were "abandoned" from the original uploaders. There's not a real thought behind it, I'm just cleaning up my HDs and following the wind. What I downloaded long ago is flowing back. All credits go to the first uploader. Enjoy...


ita diegues said...

Thank you very much for sharing.

Audentity said...

Thanks for a great release.