02 April 2012

Debussy: Préludes Book I and II

EAC | FLAC tracks | LOG | Covers | 188 Mb
Date CD: September 2006 | Hyperion | 77:04
FileVelocity - - FileFactory
'A good recording of the Debussy Préludes should feel like an occasion, and Steven Osborne delivers. His playing seeps with atmosphere and he delves deep into the composer’s sound world. There is throughout the sense of going on a journey, even awe, to Osborne’s interpretations. Beautifully recorded, this is total-immersion Debussy' (Gramophone)
'This CD confirms what has been increasingly apparent from Osborne's recitals: he is one of the outstanding keyboard talents of our time. Osborne plays with a maturity that sets him apart from most of his contemporaries bringing to the two books of préludes a quality of touch, texture and colour that lets the music's scene and story-telling speak for itself without blurring. From the very first note you feel he has Debussy's entire sound-world in his grasp' (The Financial Times)
'The finesse that Steven Osborne infallibly brings to his playing pays winning dividends on this recording of the two books of Debussy's Préludes' (Daily Telegraph)
Steven Osborne has already made a name for himself in French music with a disc of Alkan and a profoundly moving performance of Messiaen’s Vingt Regards. Here he reaches between those two to tackle one of the pinnacles of the piano repertoire—Debussy’s two books of Préludes. These works have been central to Steven’s repertoire for many years and he brings them to the studio after many public performances and much reflection. He has worked from the most up-to-date Urtext edition which clarifies Debussy’s thought in many places, particularly with regard to tempo relationships within La cathédrale engloutie and a missing bar in Les tierces alternées. In a crowded field Osborne need fear no comparisons: the pianism is exquisite and the interpretations are of a rare depth and subtlety—a recording to rival the very best!
Préludes. Book 1
1 - No 01: Danseuses de Delphes. Lent et grave
2 - No 02: Voiles. Modéré
3 - No 03: Le vent dans la plaine. Animé
4 - No 04: Les sons et les parfums tournent dans l'air du soir. Modéré
5 - No 05: Les collines d'Anacapri. Très modéré
6 - No 06: Des pas sur la neige. Triste et lent
7 - No 07: Ce qu'a vu le vent d'ouest. Animé et tumultueux
8 - No 08: La fille aux cheveux de lin. Très calme et doucement expressif
9 - No 09: La sérénade interrompue. Modérément animé
10 - No 10: La cathédrale engloutie. Profondément calme
11 - No 11: La danse de Puck. Capricieux et léger
12 - No 12: Minstrels. Modéré
Préludes. Book 2
13 - No 01: Brouillards. Modéré
14 - No 02: Feuilles mortes. Lent et mélancolique
15 - No 03: La Puerta del Vino. Mouvement de Habanera
16 - No 04: Les fées sont d'exquises danseuses. Rapide et léger
17 - No 05: Bruyères. Calme
18 - No 06: General Lavine, excentric. Dans le style et le mouvement d'un Cake-Walk
19 - No 07: La terrasse des audiences du clair de lune. Lent
20 - No 08: Ondine. Scherzando
21 - No 09: Hommage à S Pickwick Esq PPMPC. Grave
22 - No 10: Canope. Très calme et doucement triste
23 - No 11: Les tierces alternées. Modérément animé
24 - No 12: Feux d'artifice. Modérément animé
I'm beginning here to resurrect some of the works that "disappeared" from Avax or were "abandoned" from the original uploaders. There's not a real thought behind it, I'm just cleaning up my HDs and following the wind. What I downloaded long ago is flowing back. All credits go to the first uploader. Enjoy...


Anonymous said...

any chance about filevelocity upload?

Geo said...

Thanks a lot for rescuing this wonderful recording!

Audentity said...

Thanks! A great version of the preludes.

Cindy Dy said...

I enjoy reading all your post in your blogs. I guess you are a great blogger because you have a lot of comments in your blogs. Keep on posting. Please inspire more people through your post! Fighting!